The Board

Executive Directors

Peter Harrison

Group Chief Executive (50)

Appointed Chief Executive in April 2016. He was previously an Executive Director and Head of Investment from May 2014.
Experience: He began his career at Schroders in 1988 and subsequently held roles at Newton Investment Management as Portfolio Manager, JP Morgan Asset Management as Head of Global Equities and Multi-asset and at Deutsche Asset Management as Global Chief Investment Officer. He was Chairman and Chief Executive of RWC Partners before re-joining Schroders as Global Head of Equities in March 2013.
External appointments: Director of the Investment Association. 


Richard Keers

Chief Financial Officer (53)

Appointed a Director and Chief Financial Officer in May 2013. 
Experience: He is a chartered accountant and was a Senior Audit Partner of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP (PwC) until May 2013. He became a partner of PwC in 1997 and has 25 years’ experience in the audits of global financial services groups. His experience includes time spent in PwC’s New York, Sydney, Edinburgh and London offices. 
External appointments: He will become a non-executive member of Lloyd’s Franchise Board in May 2016.


Massimo Tosato

Executive Vice-Chairman (61)

Appointed a Director in August 2001, having joined Schroders in 1995. He will retire from the Board at the end of 2016. 
Experience: He was a founding partner and Chief Executive Officer of Cominvest SpA. and a partner and Managing Director of Euromercantile SpA. He was Vice President of the European Fund and Asset Management Association from 2011 until 2013.
External appointments: Member of the Board of Overseers at Columbia Business School, Trustee of the Parasol Unit Foundation for Contemporary Art, London and a non-executive Director of Nutmeg Saving and Investment Limited. He is also a member of the Forum of European Asset Managers.


Philip Mallinckrodt

Group Head of Private Assets and Wealth Management (53)

Appointed a Director in January 2009.
Experience: He started his career with Credit Suisse First Boston. He joined Schroders in 1994, and then worked for Citigroup from 2000 to 2002. He rejoined Schroders in 2002 .
External appointments: Member of the International Advisory Council of the Brookings Institution.


Non-Executive Directors

Michael Dobson

Chairman (64)

Appointed Chairman in April 2016, having been Chief Executive since November 2001. He first joined the Board as a non-executive Director in April 2001. 
Experience: Prior to joining Schroders he was previously Chief Executive of Morgan Grenfell Group and a member of the Board of Managing Directors of Deutsche Bank AG.
External appointments: Member of the FCA Practitioner Panel and the President’s Committee of the Confederation of British Industry.


Lord Howard of Penrith

Senior Independent Director (71)

Appointed Senior Independent Director in April 2015, having been a non-executive Director since November 2008. 
Experience: He was previously Deputy to the Chairman of Lehman in Europe until 1998 and was the Partner in charge of international fixed income at Phillips & Drew. He was also Chairman of Tarchon Capital Management LLP from 1998 until March 2013. 
External appointments: Senior Advisor at Beazley plc having previously held the position of Chief Investment Officer until the end of 2015. 
Committee membership: Chairman of the Remuneration Committee. Member of the Nominations and Audit and Risk Committees.


Robin Buchanan

Independent non-executive Director (64)

Appointed a non-executive Director in March 2010. 
Experience: He was the Senior Partner of Bain & Company Inc. in the UK for 12 years and remains a Senior Adviser. Most recently he served as Chairman of PageGroup plc until December 2015. He was Dean and President of London Business School. He is a chartered accountant and holds an MBA (Harvard Business School).
External appointments: Non-executive Director of LyondellBasell Industries N.V. He is Chairman of the Investment Committee of Access Industries, and a Senior Adviser to Coller Capital Ltd
Committee membership: 
Member of the Remuneration, Nominations and Audit and Risk Committees.  



Rhian Davies

Independent non-executive Director (51)

Appointed a non-executive Director in July 2015.
Experience: She is a chartered accountant and was a partner at Electra Partners, an independent private equity fund manager, until June 2015 and remains a Senior Adviser. She previously worked in PwC’s audit and insolvency practice until joining Electra in 1992.
External appointments: Senior Adviser of Electra Partners.
Committee membership: Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee and a member of the Nominations Committee.


Nichola Pease

Independent non-executive Director (55)

Appointed a non-executive Director in September 2012. 
Experience: She has over 30 years’ experience in the asset management and stock broking industries. She was the Chief Executive and then Deputy Chairman of J O Hambro Capital Management Ltd from 1998 until 2008. She was a trustee and Chairman of the Investment Committee and Member of the Audit Committee of Guy’s and St. Thomas’ Charity until June 2013 and a non-executive Member of the Executive Committee of the Army Board and Chairman of the Army independent Assurance Committee until March 2015.
External appointments: Founder and Chairman of Investment 2020 and a Member of the Eton College Investment Committee. 
Committee membership: Member of the Remuneration, Nominations and Audit and Risk Committees.


Bruno Schroder

Non-executive Director (83)

Appointed a Director in January 1963. 
Experience: He is the great-great-grandson of John Henry Schroder, co-founder of the Schroders businesses in 1804. He joined the Schroder Group in London where he worked in the Commercial Banking and Corporate Finance divisions of J. Henry Schroder Wagg & Co Ltd.
External appointments: Director of a number of private limited companies. 
Committee membership: Member of the Nominations Committee.


Ages shown are as at 6 October 2016